Guy Bertrand

Guy Bertrand is a chemistry professor at the University of California, San Diego. Bertrand obtained his B.Sc. from the University of Montpellier in 1975 and his PhD from the Paul Sabatier University, Toulouse, in 1979. He was a postdoctoral researcher at Sanofi Research, France, in 1981. The research interests of Bertrand and his co-workers lie mainly in the chemistry of main group elements from group 13 to 16, at the border between organic, organometallic and inorganic chemistry; especially their use in stabilizing carbenes, nitrenes, radicals and biradicals, 1,3-dipoles, anti-aromatic heterocycles, and more. He has directed the synthesis of some original persistent carbenes, including bis(diisopropylamino)cyclopropenylidene, the first example of a carbene with all-carbon environment that is stable at room-temperature. Guy Bertrand is an honorific member or fellow of several scientific societies, such as the AAAS (2006), the French Academy of Sciences (2004), the European Academy of Sciences (2003), Academia Europaea (2002), and the recipient of various prizes and awards.

Kit Cummins

Christopher “Kit” Cummins is a chemistry professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). graduated from the Cornell University, United States, with an A.B. degree and inorganic chemistry graduate studies at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, from which he obtained his PhD degree. Afterwards he worked as an Assistant Professor at MIT and was promoted to his current rank of Professor. Kit Cummins is a recipient of various prizes and awards, such as the Harvards University’s E. Bright Wilson Prize. Kit has been elected to membership in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and is a corresponding member of the Akademie der Wissenschaften, Göttingen. The research of Kit Cummins include the development of new practical methods for inorganic synthesis, the discovery of definitive examples of new reactions involving important small molecules such as N2, O2, P4, CO2, CO, and H2, and synthesis from the elements. Kit and his group are exploring simple cyclic phosphates including P3O93- as ligands for cobalt in aqueous solution as well. This is a project inspired by the discovery of the Nocera oxygen evolving catalyst (Co-OEC).

Berth-Jan Deelman

Arkema B.V., Location Vlissingen and Utrecht UniversityBerth-Jan Deelman (1966) obtained his PhD degree in 1994 from the University of Groningen with Prof. Jan H. Teuben on investigating C-H and C-X activation reactions by organolanthanides. In 1996, after a post-doctoral at the University of Sussex with Prof. Michael F. Lappert on non-cyclopentadienyl catalysts for olefin polymerization, he accepted an assistant professorship sponsored by Elf Atochem (now Arkema) at Utrecht University to develop new homogeneous catalysts for industrial application. In 2002 he joined Elf Atochem and currently holds the position of R&D manager at Arkema’s Vlissingen location. As of 2009 he also has a part time professorship in Industrial Homogeneous Catalysis at Utrecht University. He is the (co)author of more than 50 scientific publications and 8 patents in the area of organometallic chemistry and catalysis. His current research interests include the use of catalysis for the development of sustainable industrial processes and the conversion of biomass to fine chemicals.


Hansjörg Grützmacher

Hansjörg Grützmacher earned his degree in Chemistry at the University of Göttingen with Herbert W. Roesky. He worked with Guy Bertrand at the Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination in Toulouse, was nominated Privatdozent at the University of Heidelberg and joined the faculty of the University of Freiburg before he was appointed at the ETH as full professor. The research activities in the Grützmacher group are based on a strong background in experimental main group element and organometallic chemistry. The research in main group element chemistry focuses on new bonding systems, especially with phosphorus, but also tin, lead, and tellurium in order to test and expand fundamental bonding concepts. Reactive building blocks are synthesized and applied to synthetic chemistry. Current activities in main group element chemistry concentrate on: (i) The development of new phosphorus based photoinitiators and flame retardants for efficient and environmentally benign surface functionalization; (ii) The synthesis of low-valent phosphorus compounds including phosphorus centered radicals as building blocks and potentially interesting “super”-spin-labels; (iii) The fascinating structures and surprising reactivity of alkali metal phosphides. This research is driven by the strong believe that there will be a large demand for simple and reliable procedures to prepare molecules containing main group elements which can be applied in modern material science. 

Roland Kraemer

Nicolas Mézailles

After graduating from Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Toulouse as chemical engineer, Nicolas Mézailles obtained a PhD degree in 1997 from Purdue University (Indiana, USA) under the direction of Prof.  Clifford Kubiak. He came back to France to receive post-doctoral training at the Ecole Polytechnique in the  group of Prof. François Mathey. He was recruited by CNRS in 1998 in the “UMR 7653” and has worked many years with Prof. P. Le Floch. He was promoted to Research Director in 2008. In parallel to his research activities, he is involved in the teaching at the Ecole Polytechnique where he runs the Master program in Chemistry at the Ecole Polytechnique since September 2008 and is “Professeur Chargé de Cours” at the Ecole Polytechnique since September 2010. Recently he returned to Toulouse and is working at the Laboratoire Hétérochimie Fondamentale et Appliquée (CNRS). His ongoing research interests span the use of geminal dianions as precursors for the synthesis of metal carbene fragments; ligand synthesis and coordination; the mechanisms of nanoparticle (NP) synthesis; metal-phosphides (MxPy) via the stoichiometric reaction of P4  with M(0) NP; and more recently transition metal activation of N2

Paul Pringle

Jan Weigand

Jan Weigand is a Professor of Coordination Chemistry at the Technische Universität Dresden, Germany. Jan obtained his degrees and PhD – summa cum laude- at the University of München, Germany. The research interest of Jan lie mainly in Inorganic Synthesis – Phosphorus chemistry with a focus on P4 functionalization; synthetic methods in main-group chemistry and element–element bond formation; sustainability in chemistry (recycling of chemical waste and f elements). Jan Weigand is a recipient of various scholarships, grants and awards, such as the Wöhler Award for young scientist, Emmy Noether Research Group Leader and the ERC starting grant 2012. Jan Weigand has authored and co-authored more than 77 research articles.

Steven van Zutphen

Steven van Zutphen is the CEO of Magpie Polymers, a start-up company producing metal capturing polymers capable of selectively removing heavy metals such as lead, uranium or gold from (waste)water. Steven van Zutphen invented the technology for Magpie as researcher at the Ecole Polytechnique in Paris in 2006, where he worked after his studies. At the end of 2007, he joined Corning Research in Fontainebleau where he worked together with Etienne Almoric on a number of research projects. In 2010, Steven and Etienne left their jobs in order to start Magpie Polymers.
As an entrepreneur and synthetic chemist, he has a broad background in organic, organometallic and bio-chemistry. He is experienced in academic and industrial research, technology transfer and start-up creation, and has authored or co-authored 18 peer reviewed research articles and 5 patent applications. Steven van Zutphen holds a M.Sc. from the University of Bristol and PhD from Leiden University.