Universität Leipzig

The Universität Leipzig offers a wide spectrum of academic disciplines at 14 faculties with more than 150 institutes. The great tradition of Universität Leipzig is illustrated by its prestigious scholars and Nobel laureates, such as Wilhelm Wundt, Wilhelm Ostwald, Ivan Petrović Pavlov, Werner Heisenberg, Shin'ichirō Tomonaga, Gustav Hertz, Hans Mayer or Ernst Bloch. Its famous students include Thomas Müntzer, Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz, Gotthold Ephraim Lessing, Johann Wolfgang Goethe, Friedrich Nietzsche, Richard Wagner, Felix Bloch, Edward Teller, Wang Foh-san, Carl Friedrich von Weizsäcker, Hans-Dietrich Genscher and Angela Merkel. The Universität Leipzig currently boasts more than 150,000 alumni.

Eva Marie Hey-Hawkins
Evamarie Hey-Hawkins did her first degree and PhD (with Prof. Dr. K. Dehnicke) and is awarded as "Privatdozentin" at the Phillips University in Marburg, Germany. Her PhD degree is awarded with "summa cum laude". Afterwards, she worked at the University of Sussex in England, the University of Western Australia and the Australian National University and was research Associate at the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Chemistry in Stuttgart. Since 1993 she is the chair of Organometallic Chemistry and Photochemistry at the University of Leipzig in Germany and since 1999 fellow of the Royal Society of  Chemistry (CChem FRSC).